Honoured Medallists

The Medal of Distinction was established by CHA in 2004 to honour individuals who make an outstanding contribution at a national level to improving the health of children and young people through service provision, leadership or advocacy.

The Medal of Distinction may be awarded both to individuals directly affiliated with CHA and also to members of the broader community who, through their exceptional endeavours, improve children’s health.

CHA Medal Recipients: 
2016: Pat Marks
2014: Mr Sean Turner
          Dr Rosemary Marks
2011: Doctor Ralph Hanson

2010: Doctor Antonio Penna
2009: Associate Professor Kingsley Coulthard
2008: Professor Graham Vimpani AM
2007: Professor Frank Oberklaid OAM
2005: Professor Les White AO
2004: Ms Anne Cahill

For those directly affiliated with CHA, the criteria for awarding the Medal include a significant period of service to CHA, and sustained leadership and advocacy for children’s and young people’s health. The Medal is not awarded for long service but, rather, for exceptional and meritorious service. For members of the broader community, the criterion is recognition at a national level for leadership and advocacy for children’s and young people’s health.

The decision to award the Medal of Distinction is made by the President of CHA in consultation with the relevant Directors. Generally, one Medal is awarded each year. On occasions, more than one Medal may be awarded or no Medal awarded. The Medal is usually awarded at CHA's Annual Conference.